TL;DR
Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
NS&I has raised interest rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts covering one-, two-, three- and five-year terms. The increases are the second round in two months, and several accounts now pay more than 5%; the supplied report does not give the individual rates or enough comparison data to establish whether they are best buys.
NS&I has raised rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts, marking its second round of increases in two months. The Treasury-backed provider has improved rates across its one-, two-, three- and five-year accounts, with several now paying more than 5%, according to MoneyWeek.
The reported changes cover eight accounts across four fixed terms: one, two, three and five years. MoneyWeek says the increases follow a previous round of rate rises less than two months earlier, though its report does not identify the size of each increase or list all the revised rates.
The distinction between terms matters to savers weighing a fixed account: committing money for longer can limit access during the term, while the rate is set according to the account’s conditions. The source confirms that several NS&I accounts now pay more than 5%, but does not state which specific terms have crossed that level. Readers should check NS&I’s current product information for rates, minimum deposits, access restrictions and other conditions before making a decision.
The headline question of whether the accounts are “best buys” cannot be answered from the supplied figures alone. A rate above 5% may be competitive, but a meaningful comparison needs the exact rate, term and account conditions alongside current offers from other providers. MoneyWeek’s report establishes that NS&I has increased rates; it does not provide enough information to rank the accounts against the wider market.
How the New Rates Affect Savers
The increases give savers considering a fixed-term account a reason to revisit NS&I’s rates, particularly if they are prepared to leave money untouched for a year or longer. Several accounts now pay more than 5%, according to the report, but that threshold on its own does not show whether a particular account is the right choice.
For a fair comparison, savers need to weigh the rate against how long their money is locked away and whether the account’s access rules suit their needs. The available report does not give those terms or a rate-by-rate comparison with competing accounts. It also does not establish how the changes affect existing customers or whether current rates are available to every saver. The practical takeaway is to check the live account details before transferring or depositing funds.
Products Worth Considering

FLEXISPOT 40-Inch Height-Adjustable Standing Desk Converter with Keyboard Tray, Black

HP Sprocket Portable 2×3 Instant Photo Printer, Lilac, with ZINK Paper Bundle

Samsung Odyssey G4 25-inch FHD Gaming Monitor
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Second Rate Rise in Two Months
MoneyWeek describes this as NS&I’s second increase in two months to fixed-rate savings products. The latest reported round covers eight accounts over four terms, from one year to five years. That recent sequence shows rates have changed more than once in a short period, making it sensible for savers to verify the rate in force rather than rely on older product pages or previous comparisons.
NS&I is described in the report as Treasury-backed. That identifies the provider, but the source material does not set out how its protection arrangements compare with other savings providers or provide details about the accounts beyond the rate changes. This article therefore does not treat the Treasury backing as proof that the accounts are the best option; the central confirmed development is the increase itself.
“NS&I has hiked rates on eight of its fixed-rate savings accounts for the second time in two months.”
— MoneyWeek
Individual Rates and Terms Not Listed
The source material does not specify the new rate for each of the eight accounts, the size of each increase, or the date the revised rates take effect. It also does not identify which accounts now pay more than 5%. Those omissions prevent a detailed comparison or a firm conclusion about which products, if any, lead the market.
Other details are not supplied, including account eligibility, minimum deposits, early-access rules and whether existing customers receive the revised rates. The report also does not provide a comparison with other providers. These points should be checked directly against current NS&I account information and comparable savings products; they cannot be inferred from the announcement summary.
Check Current Account Details
Savers interested in the changes should consult NS&I’s current product pages or contact the provider to confirm the rate available now, the applicable term and the account rules. They can then compare like-for-like offers from other providers, taking access restrictions and the time they are willing to commit their savings into account.
MoneyWeek’s supplied report does not state a further announcement date or identify another scheduled rate review. Whether NS&I will change rates again, and how its accounts compare with competitors once all current rates and conditions are checked, remains open.
Key Questions
What has NS&I changed?
According to MoneyWeek, NS&I has increased rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts covering one-, two-, three- and five-year terms.
Do any of the accounts pay more than 5%?
MoneyWeek reports that several now pay more than 5%. The supplied report does not say which accounts or list their exact rates, so check NS&I’s current information for the latest figures.
Are NS&I’s revised accounts the best buys?
The information provided is not enough to establish that. A best-buy assessment needs each account’s current rate and conditions, compared with offers from other providers for the same term.
Is this NS&I’s first rate increase recently?
No. MoneyWeek says this is the second rate increase in two months. The source does not provide the dates or details of the earlier changes.
When do the new rates take effect?
The supplied report does not give an effective date. Savers should confirm the current rate and application details with NS&I before opening an account or moving savings.
Source: rss
